Well, it’s that time of year again – time for people who are vested with some semblance of cultural authority to compile “best of” lists for various things – in my case it’s for two jazz critics polls. This was perhaps the hardest top 10 jazz list I’ve put together.  After nailing down this list’s top three records, I was seriously considering another 15-20 albums for the final seven spots – the field is that deep this year.

A couple observations before I hit you with the list: first, this is easily the farthest “out” any year-end best of list I have ever put together, and as you’ll see, there isn’t a single straightahead album on it; second, you’ll notice the absence of several albums that other critics have lavished with praise, e.g. discs by Sonny Rollins, Joe Lovano, Ambrose Akinmusire, Tierney Sutton; third, I admit it – this list can be considered pretty damn weird.  Last year I asked a fellow critic friend and mentor of mine if I was completely nuts for having a best of list that was pretty far outside the mainstream (his own list was also singularly unique).  He told me – with a hint of sarcasm – that I have a “valuable outside perspective.”  Whether or not my perspective is valuable or not is debatable, but what isn’t is its relative outside-ness.

So, here’s my outside perspective of the top 10 jazz albums of 2011…..

1. Colin Stetson, New History Warfare, vol. 2: Judges

2. Mostly Other People Do the Killing, Coimbra Concert

3. Craig Taborn, Avenging Angel

4. Claudia Quintet +1, What is the Beautiful?

5. Rudresh Mahanthappa, Samdhi

6. Matana Roberta, Coin Coin Chapter One: Gens De Couleur Libre

7. Miguel Zenon, Alma Adentro

8. Muhal Richard Abrams, Sound Dance

9. Steve Coleman, Mancy of Sound

10. Allen Lowe, Blues and the Empirical Truth

Tags

Categories

Leave a comment

Chris Robinson on music, and sometimes books